Best Books from 2022

I’m keeping it simple this year with one post covering a baker’s dozen from all genres: the 13 current-year releases that stood out to me the most. (No rankings this time; anything from my Best of First Half post that didn’t make it through to here can be considered a runner-up.)

 

Fiction

Groundskeeping by Lee Cole: In Cole’s debut novel, two aspiring writers meet on a Kentucky college campus and form a romantic connection despite very different backgrounds. There are stereotypes to be overcome as Owen introduces Alma to Kentucky culture and slang. Trump’s election divides families and colleagues. The gentle satire on the pretensions of writing programs is another enjoyable element. Three-dimensional characters, vivid scenes ripe for the Netflix treatment, timely themes and touching relationships.

 

Stories from the Tenants Downstairs by Sidik Fofana: Fofana’s novel-in-stories orbits a Harlem apartment complex and spins bittersweet tales of ambition and disappointment in a range of vibrant voices. Endearing scoundrels are the focus in a number of stories. Minor characters from some go on to have starring roles in others. Though these tenants’ lives are filled with difficulties, their optimism and sheer joy shine through in their picaresque antics. A stellar debut from a very talented writer; Fofana should win all the prizes.

 

Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel: This dazzlingly intricate novel blends historical fiction, up-to-the-minute commentary and science-fiction predictions. In 2401, the Time Institute hires Gaspery-Jacques Roberts to investigate a recurring blip in time. Fans of The Glass Hotel will recognize some characters, and those familiar with Station Eleven will find similarities in a pandemic plot that resonates with the Covid-19 experience. How does Mandel do it? One compulsively readable hit after another.

 

Very Cold People by Sarah Manguso: The aphoristic style of some of Manguso’s previous books continues here as discrete paragraphs and brief vignettes build to a gloomy portrait of Ruthie’s archetypical affection-starved childhood in the fictional Massachusetts town of Waitsfield in the 1980s and 90s. The depiction of Ruthie’s narcissistic mother is especially acute. So much resonated with me. This is the stuff of girlhood – if not universally, then certainly for the (largely pre-tech) American 1990s as I experienced them.

 

Body Kintsugi by Senka Marić: This intense work of autofiction is all the more powerful due to the second-person narration that displaces the pain of breast cancer from the protagonist and onto the reader. Coming of age in a female body was traumatic in itself; now that same body threatens to kill her. Even as she loses the physical signs of femininity, she remains resilient: Her body will document what she’s been through. As forthright as it is about the brutality of cancer treatment, the novella is also creative, playful and darkly comic.

 

The Hero of This Book by Elizabeth McCracken: Is it autofiction or bereavement memoir? Both and neither. In 2019, an American writer wanders London, seeing the sights but mostly reminiscing about her mother, whom she describes through bare facts and apt anecdotes. London had been a favourite destination, their final trip together falling just three years before. As well as a tribute to a beloved mother and a matter-of-fact record of dealing with ageing parents and the aftermath of loss, this is a playful cross-examination of literary genres.

 

The Swimmers by Julie Otsuka: Otsuka’s third novel of the Japanese American experience again employs the first-person plural, as well as the second person – rarer perspectives that provide stylistic novelty. The first two chapters are set at a pool that, for the title swimmers, serves as a locus of escape and safety. On the first page we’re introduced to Alice, whose struggle with dementia becomes central. I admired Otsuka’s techniques for moving readers through the minds of the characters, alternating range with profundity and irony with sadness.

 

Which Side Are You On by Ryan Lee Wong: Wong’s dynamite debut novel weaves timely issues of racism and protest into a pacy, funny story of idealism versus cynicism. Reed, an Asian American college student committed to social justice, rethinks how best to live out his values in the real world when he goes home for a few days. Wong probes the generational gap between him and his parents through snappy dialogue and enjoyable scenes that constitute an incidental tour of multi-ethnic Los Angeles.

 

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin: Sam and Sadie’s friendship, which over the years becomes a business partnership that also incorporates Sam’s college roommate, Marx Watanabe, is a joy. Their creative energy and banter are enviable. Marx is the uncomplicated, optimistic go-between when Sam and Sadie butt heads and take offense at betrayals. Underneath their conflicts is a love different from, and maybe superior to, romantic love. An immersive story of friendship and obsession; nostalgic, even cathartic.

 

Nonfiction

In Love by Amy Bloom: Bloom’s husband, Brian Ameche, was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s in his mid-60s, having exhibited mild cognitive impairment for several years. Brian quickly resolved to make a dignified exit while he still, mostly, had his faculties. This achieves the perfect tone, mixing black humour with teeth-gritted practicality as Bloom chronicles their relationship, the final preparations, his assisted suicide at Dignitas in Switzerland, and the aftermath. An essential, compelling read.

 

Sinkhole: A Natural History of a Suicide by Juliet Patterson: This gorgeously written family memoir approaches its subject matter with brave tenderness. In December 2008, poet Patterson’s father died by suicide near his Minnesota home. He wasn’t an obvious risk. Yet there was family history: both of Patterson’s parents lost their fathers to suicide. She returns to Kansas on research trips to unearth her grandfathers’ lives. Throughout, sinkholes, common in Kansas, are both reality and metaphor for the chasm a suicide leaves.

 

Blurb Your Enthusiasm: An A-Z of Literary Persuasion by Louise Willder: A delightful bibliophile’s miscellany about ways of pithily spreading excitement about books. Over the last 25 years, Willder has written jacket copy for thousands of Penguin releases, so she has it down to a science as well as an art. (Reviewing is an adjacent skill.) The art of the first line, serialization and self-promotion, guidelines for good writing, differences between British and American jacket copy, the use of punctuation, and so much more. Very funny to boot.

 

Poetry

Inside the Storm I Want to Touch the Tremble by Carolyn Oliver: Carolyn used to blog at Rosemary and Reading Glasses and won the Agha Shahid Ali Prize for this debut collection. Every line feels tirelessly honed to elicit maximal meaning and a memorable sound. Traditional forms are adapted to great effect. Chronic illness, gardening, and everyday sexual danger are themes, but the poems that pierced me most were about her son: quirky things he says, but also the reality of modern parenting, where active shooter drills are de rigueur.

This year’s best-of selections (the ones I own in print, anyway; the rest were read on Kindle or have already gone back to the library).

 

Have you read any of my 2022 favourites?

What releases do I need to catch up on right away?

37 responses

  1. We’re on the same page with Tomorrowx3 and Groundskeeping! I’d like to try Very Cold People and Which Side Are You On.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have five of your picks in my TBR (Mandel, Manguso, Maric, Zevin and the best titled Blurb Your Enthusiasm, so I think I have some great reading ahead of me. I also like the sound of Groundskeeping.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Groundskeeping is a book I got a proof of and never got round to reading but it has appeared in so many people’s best of lists that I am going to make it a priority next month. I also hadn’t heard of Stories from the Tenants Downstairs but think it sounds excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stories from the Tenants Downstairs comes out in the UK next month, so look out for it!

      Like

  4. Hi Rebecca
    “Sea of Tranquility” is the best book in English we have read this year. Another book (originally in German) is by Juli Zeh “Gaming Instinct” which was published 18 years ago.
    All the best, have a healthy and happy new year
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy new year! I’m so glad you also enjoyed the Mandel.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Very Cold People and Groundskeeping were two of my books of the year, and I loved the Bloom, too. Blurb Your Enthusiasm was such a delight. I think Willder had a lot of fun writing it. Happy New Year, Rebecca, reading and otherwise!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy new year! That’s a lot of overlap for us.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s interesting to read your list – not one of which I’ve read, and the subsequent comments. I have some catching up to do!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The Sidik Fofana sounds really interesting, as do the Julie Otsuka and the Wong. And definitely the Louise Willder. You’ll note that none of these is about ‘ealth!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. That’s pretty weird. I haven’t read a single book on your fiction list, even though I have read some other books by some of the authors.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think four of them were debut novelists.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess I haven’t read that many debut novelists lately.

        Like

  8. The Zevin made my best-of-year list, too! I remember Carolyn’s blog well and knew she’d been having success with her poetry—so nice to see a collection of hers here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Zevin was definitely my most ‘popular’ choice.

      Like

  9. Lovely. I’m still on the fence about reading the Zevin book. I liked her two previous ones, but the premise here… um… not sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whereas I hadn’t enjoyed a previous work of hers (A.J. Fikry). I can assure you that I have no interest in video games and still loved this, and I have heard many others say the same thing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I loved Fikry… I’ll keep it on my “maybe” list, though.

        Like

  10. Groundskeeping was so well written that I passionately hated the characters! That’s a compliment–it was that well done. The Bloom book interests me–I don’t know if I can handle reading it, but it intrigues me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good point: if you love or hate characters, they must be well drawn! The Bloom book is not mawkish at all, it’s very matter of fact (though obviously packs an emotional punch).

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Forgot-Swimmers was so close to home I couldn’t finish it. It was amazing, but too much like my 86 year old Mom.

    Like

    1. I can see how that would be difficult for you to read about.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I share your love of the Mandel! What a treasure she is. The Zevin is on my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One of the only SF-borderline authors I’ll read.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. A few in your list that are on my radar – McCracken, Bloom and Manguso.
    I somehow missed Sinkhole but will certainly be hunting it down.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Those all seem like books for you.

      Like

  14. Blurb Your Enthusiasm sounds like a need-to-read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s such fun for us bookish folks!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I wondered the same thing while reading Sea of Tranquility – How does she do it??
    I would like to read all the books on this list, but it would be especially nice to read Carolyn’s book. She is doing so well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think diehard SF readers are a little dismissive of Mandel’s treatment of time travel, but because I don’t generally read SFF I thought it was fantastic!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I am planning to buy Tomorrow x 3 tomorrow if the indie bookshop has it – I’m having a pre-birthday book token splurge after instructing the two remaining friends who might be buying me books to wait till I’ve sorted out my wishlist tomorrow night – it’s a tricky business, isn’t it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I spent my Christmas book token in the week and most of the books arrived today!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. […] Bloom’s memoir In Love was one of my favourites last year, but I’m unfamiliar with the rest of the nonfiction shortlist and all the poetry collections are […]

    Like

  18. […] Why I have it: Including in Beck’s favourites for 2022. […]

    Like

  19. […] Why I have it: because it was in Bookish Beck’s favourites for 2022. […]

    Like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.