Book Serendipity, Mid-December 2022 to Mid-February 2023

I call it “Book Serendipity” when two or more books that I read at the same time or in quick succession have something in common – the more bizarre, the better. This is a regular feature of mine every few months. Because I usually have 20–30 books on the go at once, I suppose I’m more prone to such incidents. The following are in roughly chronological order.

My biggest overall coincidence set this time was around Korean culture, especially food:

  • A demanding Korean/American mother (“Umma”) in Sea Change by Gina Chung, Camp Zero by Michelle Min Sterling, and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner.
  • In the Chung and Zauner, she has eyebrows tattooed on.
  • In the Chung and Sterling, there’s also a mall setting.
  • Winter in Sokcho by Elisa Shua Dusapin was set in South Korea and mentioned a lot of the same cultural factors and foods. KIMCHI (which I’ve never had) was inescapable in these four books.

And the rest…

  • The concept of Satan as “the enemy” in God’s Ex-Girlfriend by Gloria Beth Amodeo and All of Us Together in the End by Matthew Vollmer, two 2023 memoirs I reviewed for Foreword Reviews.

 

  • A mention of the Newsboys (my favourite Christian rock band when I was a teenager) in God’s Ex-Girlfriend by Gloria Beth Amodeo and, of all places, Animal Life by Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir (the context: a list of songs with “Born” in the title; theirs is called – you guessed it! – “Born Again”).
  • Two Moores in my stack at once: Birds of America by Lorrie Moore and The Distance from Slaughter County by Steven Moore.

 

  • A chapter in The Distance from Slaughter County by Steven Moore is called “Fight Night” and I was reading the early pages of Fight Night by Miriam Toews at the same time.

 

  • A story in Birds of America by Lorrie Moore is called “Real Estate” and I was reading Real Estate by Deborah Levy at the same time.
  • The Virgil quote “there are tears at the heart of things” and the theme of melancholy link Bittersweet by Susan Cain and The Heart of Things by Richard Holloway.

 

  • A character who stutters in Bournville by Jonathan Coe and A Place Called Winter by Patrick Gale.
  • (Werther’s) butterscotch candies are mentioned in Leila and the Blue Fox by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Our Missing Hearts by Celeste Ng, What Napoleon Could Not Do by DK Nnuro, and How to Be Sad by Helen Russell.

 

  • A mother who loves going to church in Bournville by Jonathan Coe and Born a Crime by Trevor Noah.

 

  • The metaphor of a girl trapped in a block of marble ready to have her identity carved out in Sea Change by Gina Chung and Everything’s Changing by Chelsea Stickle.

  • When I read a short story about a landmine-detecting rat in Everything’s Changing by Chelsea Stickle, I knew it wasn’t the first time I’d encountered that very specific setup. It took some digging, but I found out the other was in Attrib. by Eley Williams.

 

  • Shane McCrae, whose forthcoming memoir Pulling the Chariot of the Sun I was also reading, is a named poetic influence/source in More Sky by Joe Varrick-Carty.
  • I’m sure that after the one in Margaret Atwood’s The Door I encountered another poem about a frozen cat … but can’t now find it for the life of me.

 

  • A character named Marnie in Martha Quest by Doris Lessing and City of Friends by Joanna Trollope.

 

  • Cape Verdean immigrants in the Boston area, then and now, in Daughters of Nantucket by Julie Gerstenblatt and The War for Gloria by Atticus Lish.
  • Someone swaps green tea for coffee in Bittersweet by Susan Cain and City of Friends by Joanna Trollope.

 

  • A half-French, half-Asian protagonist in a novella translated from the French: A Single Rose by Muriel Barbery and Winter in Sokcho by Elisa Shua Dusapin.

 

  • A (semi-)historical lesbian couple as a subject of historical fiction in Daughters of Nantucket by Julie Gerstenblatt and Chase of the Wild Goose by Mary Gordon.

  • A lesbian couple with a ten-year age gap breaks up because the one partner wants a baby and the other does not in My Mother Says by Stine Pilgaard and City of Friends by Joanna Trollope.

 

  • After I specifically read three Frost Fairs books … 18th-century frolics on the frozen Thames were mentioned in The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho by Paterson Joseph.

  • As I was reading The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho by Paterson Joseph, I saw him briefly mentioned in How to Be Sad by Helen Russell.

 

  • From one 139-page book about a foreigner’s wanderings in Kyoto (often taking in temples) to another: I followed up A Single Rose by Muriel Barbery with How Kyoto Breaks Your Heart by Florentyna Leow.
  • Persimmon jam is mentioned in Winter in Sokcho by Elisa Shua Dusapin and How Kyoto Breaks Your Heart by Florentyna Leow.

 

  • A brave post-tragedy trip to a mothers and babies group ends abruptly when people are awkward or rude in All My Wild Mothers by Victoria Bennett and How to Be Sad by Helen Russell.
  • As I was reading What We Talk about when We Talk about Love by Raymond Carver, I encountered a snippet from his poetry as a chapter epigraph in Bittersweet by Susan Cain.

 

  • Sexologist Havelock Ellis inspired one of the main characters in The New Life by Tom Crewe and is mentioned in passing in Martha Quest by Doris Lessing.

 

What’s the weirdest reading coincidence you’ve had lately?

19 responses

  1. Love these, as usual! I had two that were intersections between books and real life rather than two books:

    – just after an engineer diagnosed a bridge tap in my house, a thing I’d never heard of before, one turned up in Rebecca Makkai’s I Have Some Questions For You
    – the isolated Scottish lodge where CM Ewan’s thriller A Window Breaks is set is CLEARLY based on the eco-bothy I stayed at in Scotland in December, despite the geography around the lodge being different and the inspiration not being acknowledged!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Those are terrific! I love art-meets-life moments.

      Like

  2. Book Serendipity! I love this concept! And I love how often it’s happened for you recently. Last year, I kept reading groups of books with similar plot lines. But this year, the only instance of book serendipity is that the last two books I’ve read had characters named Nina.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s fun! Did those similar plot lines feel like coincidence, or was it because you sought out the same kinds of stories?

      Like

      1. It felt like coincidence… but they were (I think) all thriller-type books, so it’s possible that there are patterns in plot lines that run across them.

        Like

  3. No book- related comment from me. Instead, I encourage you to try kimchi. You might, like me, become addicted 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Where does one find it? The Asian superstore in Reading seems like the best bet. I couldn’t believe Zauner’s mother kept an entire separate fridge for kimchi!

      Like

      1. Most decent supermarkets will have jars if it, though they vary in quality. A reliable firm is Scottish

        Like

  4. … I hadn’t finished! … called Aye does a great version. Good luck. I hope fermented cabbage is your thing!

    Like

    1. I like sauerkraut and other pickles and chutneys, so I hope that bodes well. Our veg box sends us far too many cabbages in the winter, so making our own could be another way to get through them!

      Like

      1. Good luck! Our veggie box is very carrot heavy ….

        Like

  5. Not a kimchi fan myself, although my niece and her family love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My nephews and niece are into Japanese and Korean food and culture. I’ll have to ask if they like it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same with my niece and her family. It must be a thing!

        Like

  6. I haven’t had any recently apart from ones I’ve noted in my reviews. I am impressed at the amount of Werther’s Originals in your reading and now expect them to pop up in mine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think in 3 of the 4 the brand was named and in the other it was implied. Bizarre as I hadn’t thought about them in years.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. […] interesting Bookish Beck Serendipity: in this and “How Green Was My Valley” (review to come), we find people entering an […]

    Like

  8. […] another Bookish Beck Serendipity moment, this and “How Green Was My Valley” were published within 3 years of each other (1942 […]

    Like

  9. […] Last time, my biggest set of coincidences was around books set in or about Korea or by Korean authors; this time it was Ghana and Ghanaian authors: […]

    Like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.