Birthday Happenings

One of the best things about being a home-based freelancer is that I can arrange my work schedule to suit my life. Having my birthday fall on a Friday this year was especially good because it meant I got until Monday to submit my daily editing load. My husband was working as usual, so I spent much of the day reading under the cat and charity shopping. I bought seven books, a nice mixture of England-themed nonfiction and juicy novels, plus new-to-me comfy black flats. (Total spend: £10.25.) Being short on time that evening, we lazily ordered delivery pizza for probably the first time in eight years, followed by cocktails and cake.

img_0623I didn’t end up using my literary cakes and cocktails books this year, but that gives me a chance to proffer my own pun names for what we did make. We tried two gin cocktails we’d found recipes for in the Guardian. The one they called “Elderflower Collins” was absolutely delicious: lemon juice, elderflower cordial and gin, topped up with San Pellegrino Limonata (lemon soda) and garnished with a lemon slice and a mint sprig. I dub it “A Visit from Mr. Collins,” as in the Bennet girls will have to down quite a few of these before

Unfortunately, the second cocktail was not a hit. The “Miss Polly Hawkins” combines chamomile-flavored gin (I steeped two chamomile teabags in 60 mL of gin for a week), rose syrup (we didn’t have it or want to buy it so substituted our homemade rosehip syrup), plain gin and egg white. Egg white is a fairly frequent ingredient in cocktails – it adds gloss and body – but we found that it made the drink gloopy. That plus the overall floral and medicinal notes meant this was fairly hard to swallow; we had to drown it in sparkling water and ice cubes to get it down. Alas, I modify Iris Murdoch to call this “An Unappealing Rose.”

img_0598However, my cake was an unqualified success. I usually go for chocolate or chocolate/peanut butter desserts, but decided to be different this year and requested the Italian Pear and Ginger Cheesecake from Genevieve Taylor’s cookbook A Good Egg. It was sophisticated and delicious. Running with the Italy thing, I’ll pick out a Forster title and call it “Where Angels Pear to Tread.” (It doesn’t make a whole lot of sense; then again, neither do a lot of the names in Tequila Mockingbird and Scone with the Wind!)

On Sunday the birthday fun continued with a trip to Hungerford Bookshop (our nearest independent bookshop) and a gentle country walk. I bought two secondhand books but came away with a total of four – in the basement they have a table covered in free proof copies, so my husband and I grabbed one each (how I wish I could have taken the lot!). It’s a great idea for rewarding customer loyalty and dealing with unwanted proofs; perhaps I’ll donate a stack of mine to them next time I’m there.

img_0675

Two proofs (left) and two nonfiction purchases.

This year I got a Kindle case and two bookshop-themed memoirs as presents: The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap by Wendy Welch and Books, Baguettes and Bedbugs by Jeremy Mercer. I started reading the former – the story of a married couple opening a bookshop in recession-era Virginia – right away. I also got a poster frame so I can finally hang my literary map of the British Isles on the wall above my desk, and a “Shhhh, reading in progress” mug.

Consuming tasty food and drink + acquiring a baker’s dozen of books + getting out into the countryside = a great birthday weekend!

What are the ingredients for your perfect birthday?

16 responses

  1. I don’t think I could top your weekend in any way, except perhaps to add “to sleep in” one morning. It sounds perfect!

    Like

    1. Oh yes, we slept in on both weekend days (8:30, anyway, which counts as a lie-in these days!).

      Like

  2. Belated Happy Birthday! Pizza, cake and cocktails sounds a perfect combination.
    Good to see you are reading some James Herriot – I live very much in ‘Herriot Country’ and he and his books are still a tourist draw around here in North Yorkshire.
    The Harry Mount book is very good!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Penny! I loved Herriot’s memoirs when I was a kid, and I’ve just finished reading (rereading? at least one was familiar) the cat stories. I’m excited about How England Made the English and hope to learn a lot from it. A bargain at £1, and it looks brand new.

      Like

  3. Aaaahhh, lovely! My birthday also involved books, gin and cake – us literary ladies have the right idea, clearly.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The love the names you’ve given your drinks: so clever (and tasty, no doubt)! It sounds like the perfect birthday overall. And I love the idea of the indie shop sharing its ARCs: lovely idea. Enjoy your week and may the year ahead hold many more lovely things for you and yours.

    Like

  5. Sounds like the perfect way to spend a birthday to me! I loved seeing your photos, hearing about your books, and having a look at your cake. 🙂
    And what a great use for the ARCs!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy (belated) birthday! October birthdays are the best—yours looks absolutely spectacular. I’ve had a version of your Visit from Mr. Collins (no lemon soda) and it was divine. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A perfect birthday – how lovely! Many happy returns, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds like a great birthday, Jealous! Charity shops have such good finds these days! It’s great that you can get a little back from helping great causes!

    If you’re interested in Charity shopping, I’ve just written a review on Octavia Foundation, Tooting. Have a read and spread the word on the good work that they do: tootinghustle.wordpress.com

    Happy blogging x

    Like

  10. […] (I suspect there might be more books to come, though). Looking back at my birthday book hauls from 2016 and 2017, I can see that I’ve had mixed success with getting through the acquisitions in a timely […]

    Like

  11. […] previous birthday book hauls I’ve posted about and see how many of the books I’ve read: 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and […]

    Like

  12. […] one to another what I did, ate, or received as presents! So, to follow on from my posts from 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020, here’s this year’s rundown. (I haven’t read any more birthday […]

    Like

  13. […] from one to another what I did, ate, or received as presents! So, to follow on from my 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021 posts, here’s this year’s rundown. (Oh dear, I realize I’ve […]

    Like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.