Book Serendipity, Mid-October to Mid-December 2022

The last entry in this series for the year. Those of you who join me for Love Your Library, note that I’ll host it on the 19th this month to avoid the holidays. Other than that, I don’t know how many more posts I’ll fit in before my year-end coverage (about six posts of best-of lists and statistics). Maybe I’ll manage a few more backlog reviews and a thematic roundup.

I call it “Book Serendipity” when two or more books that I read at the same time or in quick succession have something in common – the more bizarre, the better. This is a regular feature of mine every few months. Because I usually have 20–30 books on the go at once, I suppose I’m more prone to such incidents. The following are in roughly chronological order.

  • Tom Swifties (a punning joke involving the way a quotation is attributed) in Savage Tales by Tara Bergin (“We get a lot of writers in here, said the rollercoaster operator lowering the bar”) and one of the stories in Birds of America by Lorrie Moore (“Would you like a soda? he asked spritely”).

 

  • Prince’s androgynous symbol was on the cover of Dickens and Prince by Nick Hornby and is mentioned in the opening pages of Shameless by Nadia Bolz-Weber.
  • Clarence Thomas is mentioned in one story of Birds of America by Lorrie Moore and Encore by May Sarton. (A function of them both dating to the early 1990s!)

 

  • A kerfuffle over a ring belonging to the dead in one story of Shoot the Horses First by Leah Angstman and Motherthing by Ainslie Hogarth.

 

  • Excellent historical fiction with a 2023 release date in which the amputation of a woman’s leg is a threat or a reality: one story of Shoot the Horses First by Leah Angstman and The House Is on Fire by Rachel Beanland.
  • More of a real-life coincidence, this one: I was looking into Paradise, Piece by Piece by Molly Peacock, a memoir I already had on my TBR, because of an Instagram post I’d read about books that were influential on a childfree woman. Then, later the same day, my inbox showed that Molly Peacock herself had contacted me through my blog’s contact form, offering a review copy of her latest book!

 

  • Reading nonfiction books titled The Heart of Things (by Richard Holloway) and The Small Heart of Things (by Julian Hoffman) at the same time.

 

  • A woman investigates her husband’s past breakdown for clues to his current mental health in The Fear Index by Robert Harris and Motherthing by Ainslie Hogarth.

 

  • “Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow” is a repeated phrase in Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson, as it was in Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin.
  • Massive, much-anticipated novel by respected author who doesn’t publish very often, and that changed names along the way: John Irving’s The Last Chairlift (2022) was originally “Darkness as a Bride” (a better title!); Abraham Verghese’s The Covenant of Water (2023) started off as “The Maramon Convention.” I plan to read the Verghese but have decided against the Irving.

 

  • Looting and white flight in New York City in Feral City by Jeremiah Moss and Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson.

 

  • Two bereavement memoirs about a loved one’s death from pancreatic cancer: Ti Amo by Hanne Ørstavik and Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner.
  • The Owl and the Pussycat of Edward Lear’s poem turn up in an update poem by Margaret Atwood in her collection The Door and in Anna James’s fifth Pages & Co. book, The Treehouse Library.

 

  • Two books in which the author draws security attention for close observation of living things on the ground: Where the Wildflowers Grow by Leif Bersweden and The Lichen Museum by A. Laurie Palmer.

 

  • Seal and human motherhood are compared in Zig-Zag Boy by Tanya Frank and All of Us Together in the End by Matthew Vollmer, two 2023 memoirs I’m enjoying a lot.
  • Mystical lights appear in Animal Life by Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir (the Northern Lights, there) and All of Us Together in the End by Matthew Vollmer.

 

  • St Vitus Dance is mentioned in Zig-Zag Boy by Tanya Frank and Robin by Helen F. Wilson.

 

  • The history of white supremacy as a deliberate project in Oregon was a major element in Heaven Is a Place on Earth by Adrian Shirk, which I read earlier in the year, and has now recurred in The Distance from Slaughter County by Steven Moore.

What’s the weirdest reading coincidence you’ve had lately?

11 responses

  1. Hooray! I love these and it’s good to have a new post to link to when I share my own ones. As you know, I do them as I go along, but my most recent one was (OK, reading two State of the Nation books in a row) finding in Jonathan Coe’s “Bournville” and Kamila Shamsie’s “Best of Friends” a great description of the coming of lockdown and the atmosphere of it, and Boris Johnson featuring as a character!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Two in a row is great (and more common for people who aren’t mega-multi-readers like me, I expect).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your productivity and energy are extraordinary, kudos, A for effort.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I keep an ongoing Word file on my PC desktop; it’s but a moment’s work to open and update it. I find it fun to keep track of my reading coincidences 🙂

      Like

  3. You’re so good at this Rebecca. A real bumper bundle today!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Believe it or not, this was shorter than most instalments 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I used to devour John Irving’s books but I’ve given up on him of late. The last of his books I tried to read went some 30-40 pages off on one tangent and another, that when it finally got back to the story, I had to flip back to before he went off course to remember where it all got started. Nope. Not worth it! With The Last Chairlift coming in at almost 900 pages, I expect he’s at it again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I gave up on Avenue of Mysteries and haven’t tried any of his more recent stuff since. I did reread The Cider House Rules, but I had to skim quite a bit of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting… Cider House Rules is one of my favorites – right after Owen Meany and just a touch better than Hotel New Hampshire. I didn’t get as far as Avenue of Mysteries. I gave up about 30% into Until I Find You. I almost gave up with Son of the Circus, but The Fourth Hand was okay as was A Widow for One Year.

        Like

  5. […] Bookish Beck Serendipity moment came when we encountered the brutalist, listed stand of Fairydean Rovers’ stadium, […]

    Like

  6. […] Bookish Beck Serendipity moment occurred in this one: both Molly Clavering’s “Dear Hugo” and this novel […]

    Like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.