This Year’s Pre-Christmas Reading

My household has been struck down by flu Covid this week, so we’ve had to cancel some all of our holiday plans and I haven’t had as much energy or festive good cheer as I would like. This is my favourite time of the blogging year what with everyone’s best-of lists appearing, so I hope that come Boxing Day I will be feeling up for starting my own countdown of superlatives and catching up on everything you all have posted recently.


Two of my recent reads were appropriate Yuletide choices:

Robin by Helen F. Wilson: The most recent release from the “Animal” series issued by the British indie publisher Reaktion. (I’d previously read Seal.) Wilson introduces the breadth of international bird species that are known by the name “robin.” (The European robin, the protagonist of this monograph, is the only bird in its genus and is not as closely related to the American robin (a thrush) as to the bluebird; the name simply referenced the red breast. There are also magpie-robins in Southeast Asia.) Like another strikingly red bird, the cardinal in North America, the robin has long been associated with a) death and b) Christmas. They might be a portent of death, or an embodiment of the soul of the departed. For instance, the legend has it that a robin spent days in Westminster Abbey while Queen Mary II lay in state. Robins are the UK’s official favourite bird because they look cute and act endearing and sing sweetly, but they are violently territorial. (The old nursery rhyme “Who Killed Cock Robin?” also set up a weird and false vendetta between sparrows and robins.) This was a pleasant wander through biological and cultural information. I particularly loved the photos and other illustrations.

 

Small Things Like These by Claire Keegan: I read this last year but reread it earlier this month for book club. A year ago, I called it a predictable narrative and thought the evil nuns were a stereotype. This time, Keegan really got me in the feels, just as she had with Foster a couple of months before. The Church-sanctioned abuse that was the Magdalen Laundries must have seemed like a system too big to tackle, but take a look at the title. One good man’s small act of rebellion was a way of standing up to the injustice and saying that these girls were of worth (indeed, this won the Orwell Prize for political fiction). This time around, I was especially impressed by how much Keegan fits into so few pages, including Bill working out who his father was. We also get a strong sense of a man in the middle of his life: privileged enough, happy enough, but wondering if this is all there is to it; if there is something more on offer. Like Foster, this is set in the 1980s but feels timeless, and seems to effortlessly encompass so much of what it means to be human. Absolutely beautiful.

 

Merry Christmas, all!

20 responses

  1. I loved the Keegan too. Even though it felt as though the setting was far earlier than the ’80s, I agree that it was timeless. Your other choice seems worth a punt too. Hope you get well soon – this ‘flu is doing the rounds apparently. Contrive to have a happy Christmas anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Turns out it’s Covid, alas, so between Boris and this we’ve had two cancelled Christmases out of the last three.

      We spent ages talking about the setting at our book club gathering. All of us thought it seemed like the 1950s or earlier, but our Irish member told us that that was indeed what rural Ireland was like at that time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Alas to Covid. Various members of our family (not me – yet!) have been struck with ‘flu, so we empathise. Interesting that your local witness was able to confirm that 1980s Ireland was like that. It really did seem more like my own 1950s childhood.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You and another blogger friend have me thinking I must try Keegan!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, you must! This and Foster are a master class in what the novella can achieve.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very sorry to hear you had to cancel your plans and hope your bout of Covid is not too grim and leaves nothing in its trail. A peaceful Christmas to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you feel better soon. I’m full of phlegm and snot. Every year, term ends and I finally succumb to the cough/cold doing the rounds.
    Loved the Keegan, I’m glad it got to you second time around.
    Merry Christmas! Take Care.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What rotten timing! Wishing you mild symptoms and hope you recover soon and fully. Have a restful and recuperative Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh no! So sorry to hear about the Covid. May your illness be brief and mild.

    My mother in law was hospitalized with flu yesterday so it’s not the Christmas we’d planned either. The lyrics “we’ll have to muddle through somehow” feel applicable. She’s going to be okay but it’s a different kind of Christmas.

    Get well soon!

    Like

    1. Sorry to hear about your MIL — I hope she’ll be home soon. Definitely a different Christmas for us. We were also stuck at home alone in 2020 because of lockdown, but then we had energy to make a feast. This time my husband’s sense of smell and taste is off, so we probably won’t bother cooking much and will just do a replacement festive meal on NYE with family if we’re well by then.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. The Keegan was one of my books of last year. A good one for Christmas.

    So sorry you and your husband have Covid. Hope it’s quick and easy for you both.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a perfect book club selection as it was timely from the Booker Prize shortlist, gave us a lot to talk about, and was so short everyone managed to read the whole thing (a rarity!).

      Liked by 1 person

  8. One can only say Get Well Soon, Rebecca, you and your nearest, what a rotten thing to get for Christmas. Let’s hope (a) you’re all up and fit soon and (b) you got all the books you wanted waiting under the tree.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I opened a goodly stack of books today, yes 🙂 And read from many more.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Sending you and your family best wishes for a quick and full recovery. I love your eloquent reconsideration of the Keegan book and hope the elves tucked many book-shaped packages under your tree!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oops, I am SO far behind now! Happy Christmas and, indeed, New Year, and hope you’re feeling better now.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh no! Too bad about all your plans. That happened to us last year. I trust you’re feeling much better by now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m pretty much back to normal now, though the cough has stayed around for a long time and last time I tested I was still reading positive two weeks later!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It sounds like you had it much worse than I did. I was so grateful not to have a cough at all. It’s awful when it lingers.

        Like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.