Library Checkout: June 2017

I’ve mostly been reading my own books, review books, and stuff on Kindle during and since my America trip, so I haven’t actually completed any library books in June. However, I have several on the go at the moment, so next month should look a bit more impressive!


CURRENTLY READING

  • Hidden Nature: A Voyage of Discovery by Alys Fowler
  • Bee Quest: In Search of Rare Bees by Dave Goulson
  • A Horse Walks into a Bar by David Grossman

CHECKED OUT, TO BE READ

  • Human Acts by Han Kang
  • White Tears by Hari Kunzru
  • Signs for Lost Children by Sarah Moss

RETURNED UNFINISHED

  • Between the World and Me, Ta-Nehisi Coates [AMERICA]

RETURNED UNREAD

Requested by someone else:

  • Island Home: A Landscape Memoir by Tim Winton

Lost interest:

  • Multitudes: Eleven Stories by Lucy Caldwell
  • What Belongs to You by Garth Greenwell
  • Gerontius by James Hamilton-Paterson
  • Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed [AMERICA]

(Hosted by Charleen of It’s a Portable Magic.)

Have you been taking advantage of your local libraries? What appeals from my lists?

17 thoughts on “Library Checkout: June 2017

  1. I’m trying to make good use of my library’s reserve stock in the cellar, before they throw out those books permanently. Have found Alison Lurie, Elizabeth von Arnim, Janet Frame and Helen Garner there so far…

    Like

    1. That’s a great idea! I have only borrowed one book from the reserve stock so far: my first Murakami novel, a few months back. I would love to try something by Janet Frame but don’t know where to start; what can you recommend?

      Like

      1. I only read her autobiography An Angel at my Table, which was the only book of hers that the library had. I’ve heard Faces in the Water and The Carpathians are her most interesting works.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I’ve read about that in I think the Guardian. I still (3 years on from GETTING married) have a bit of trouble with reading about that kind of thing, so if it’s a big part of it I might get from a charity shop and skim!

        Like

  2. Human Acts and Signs For Lost Children are both breathtaking, in different ways. A colleague of mine read White Tears and really liked it, although it doesn’t much appeal to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No? From the blurb it sounds a bit like the Richard Powers book you recently read. I don’t really know what to expect from it except that it has themes of blues music and white privilege.

      Like

      1. The flavour I get from the description of the Kunzru is different – more pointed, more polemic, more wrestling. Which doesn’t always turn me off but for some reason is doing so with this title! I liked the Powers book because its politics were ever-present but mostly manifested through a close examination of what it’s like on a practical level to devote your entire life to an art. And also because finely detailed descriptions of singing (technique, psychology, effect) really do it for me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry to hear that the Caldwell stories did not capture your interest. Why is that? The collection is on my TBR. Thx from Washington state.

    Like

  4. Between my tablet, my Kindle and my stacks in the house, I probably have 350 or so books at my disposal.
    But when I go for my vacation at the beach every year, I create a reading list of books available at my local library. That way they have a nice trip to the beach too…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m frustrated with our library system at the moment – it was all taken off line earlier this month while they changed to a new system. Was meant to come back by June 17. Has it? No. When will it? No idea they say !! So we can’t use the library catalogue to find whats in reserve even …….

    Like

Leave a Comment

