Library Checkout: May 2017

We fly to America tomorrow morning, but, as you can see, despite my best efforts I’ve managed to leave behind a sizeable pile of library books for when I get back.

And that’s not to mention this gorgeous set of review copies awaiting my return!

I’ve added in ratings and links to any reviews of books I haven’t already featured here in some way.


LIBRARY BOOKS READ

SKIMMED ONLY

  • A Smell of Burning: The Story of Epilepsy by Colin Grant 
  • Sculptor’s Daughter: A Childhood Memoir by Tove Jansson 
  • In the Bonesetter’s Waiting-Room: Travels through Indian Medicine by Aarathi Prasad
  • Where Poppies Blow: The British Soldier, Nature, the Great War by John Lewis-Stempel 

CHECKED OUT, TO BE READ

  • Multitudes: Eleven Stories by Lucy Caldwell
  • Hidden Nature: A Voyage of Discovery by Alys Fowler
  • Bee Quest: In Search of Rare Bees by Dave Goulson
  • What Belongs to You by Garth Greenwell
  • A Horse Walks into a Bar by David Grossman
  • Gerontius by James Hamilton-Paterson
  • Human Acts by Han Kang
  • White Tears by Hari Kunzru
  • Signs for Lost Children by Sarah Moss
  • Island Home: A Landscape Memoir by Tim Winton


As to America: I hope you would agree I have been very restrained in only requesting three books to borrow from my parents’ local public library. The Coates and Shapiro are extremely short memoirs I should have no trouble getting through, and the Strayed, a collection of advice columns, is the kind of book that I can dip in and out of. My Kindle and my personal library will more than make up for any further shortfall in reading material.

ON HOLD, TO BE CHECKED OUT

  • Between the World and Me, Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • Tiny Beautiful Things, Cheryl Strayed

IN THE RESERVATION QUEUE

  • Hourglass, Dani Shapiro

(Hosted by Charleen of It’s a Portable Magic.)

Have you been taking advantage of your local libraries? What appeals from my lists?

5 thoughts on “Library Checkout: May 2017

    1. I’m not surprised you’re interested in Alys Fowler’s book since one strand of it is about kayaking Birmingham’s canals. Hillbilly Elegy is a book I thought I could only get hold of in America, but when I looked at the public library holdings over there the reservation queue was endless! Luckily, I spotted that it’s being published in the UK on June 1st (by William Collins) and they were kind enough to send me a review copy.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m a little worried about your beautiful stack of library books being left behind in London – who’s going to read them? Oh, maybe the cat! 😉
    Every one of the books in your review stack looks good to me!
    Tim Winton and Sarah Moss are both authors I would like to get around to reading one of these days…

    Like

    1. Ha ha! I made sure all the books were renewed until past the date when we get back, so they should be fine sitting there. Alfie the cat is also on holiday at a cattery for two weeks, doing plenty of his favourite activities (eating and sleeping), I’m sure!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

