And the Winner Is…

I’m just back from London, where I saw the Wellcome Book Prize 2017 announced in the course of an awards ceremony held at the Wellcome Collection. It was an enjoyable evening; I needn’t have been so nervous. And it was lovely to meet two fellow bloggers.

I’ll post a full write-up tomorrow, but for now I will just convey the news, to those who may not have heard yet, that the winner of this year’s Wellcome Book Prize is Mend the Living by Maylis de Kerangal. This was quite a shock to many of us in attendance. I hope it won’t sound ungracious if I say it was the collective least favorite of the shadow panel. But keep in mind that that’s relative: it was a strong set of six very different books, each worth reading.

8 thoughts on “And the Winner Is…

    1. It does seem rather arbitrary who ends up winning them. I think the Wellcome Book Prize brief is quite clear, and yet the judges interpreted it differently than I personally, or my shadow panel collectively, did.

      Like

  1. I did love this book – so I’m delighted that it won (it is the only one I have read though from the shortlist). I suspect the judges thought it was time for a fiction book to win – after a run of nf/memoirs.

    Like

    1. I knew you’d be pleased! It’s only the second novel to win (the first was in 2011), though if it was fiction they were after I think The Tidal Zone was superior. Interesting too that it’s the first work in translation to win. The prize is split between the author and the translator.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

