Library Checkout: November 2016

I’m winding down with public and university library books for the year and hope to get to the end of the stacks before 2016 is out. I read some terrific books this month! Some of them I’ve already talked about here, and others I may feature in a future post or two. (I’ve given ratings for all the books I finished, and added links to Goodreads for those I managed to review.)


LIBRARY BOOKS READ

CURRENTLY READING

  • Man Walks into a Room by Nicole Krauss

CHECKED OUT, TO BE READ

img_0863

  • Cat Sense by John Bradshaw [to skim only, I think]
  • Poetry Notebook, 2006–2014 by Clive James [to skim only, I think]
  • A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold
  • All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy
  • What Nature Does for Britain by Tony Juniper [to skim only, I think]

ON HOLD, TO BE PICKED UP

  • The Cat Who Came for Christmas, Cleveland Amory
  • The Cat Who Stayed for Christmas, Cleveland Amory

IN THE RESERVATION QUEUE

  • The Dark Flood Rises by Margaret Drabble
  • Cure: A Journey into the Science of Mind over Body by Jo Marchant
  • Family Life by Akhil Sharma
  • To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis

RETURNED UNREAD

  • The Course of Love by Alain de Botton – requested; I’ll read it on my Kindle instead.
  • The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge – I scanned the first few pages and wasn’t in the mood; I may try it again another time.
  • Dear Mr. M by Herman Koch – I read the first 20 pages, but it wasn’t gripping me at all.
  • The Painted Bridge by Wendy Wallace – same as for the Hardinge.

(Thanks, as always, go to Shannon of River City Reading for the great blog idea and template!)

12 thoughts on “Library Checkout: November 2016

    1. I quite enjoyed Mend the Living. The style takes a bit of getting used to, though — the sentences run to half a page or even two pages sometimes. And there’s some very abstruse vocabulary despite it being translated from the French. I plan to write it up along with a couple of other organ donation-themed books for early next year.

      Like

    1. I finished the Krauss this morning. It has a really interesting premise and I liked the first part (80 pages), but then it goes off in strange directions. Her writing is good, as always, but it wasn’t a particularly satisfying read.

      I expect A Mother’s Reckoning to be quite harrowing…

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Definitely. It feels like it’s been a while now since her last book. A great one is overdue! (It will be interesting to see if her divorce has an effect — it was certainly visible in the autobiographical nature of her ex-husband’s last book.)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. “To Say Nothing of the Dog” is brilliant and I think you’ll really like it when you get it / get to it. And I’m writing as one who doesn’t really “do” fantasy / alternate history. Just brilliant.

    Like

Leave a Comment

