Library Checkout: May 2016

The next week and a half will be my last chance to read library books before we head off on our European vacation. Apart from the Rough Guide to Vienna and one novella I plan on taking with us, everything else needs to go back to the library before we leave on June 9th. Luckily several of the books I have out at the moment are quite thin.

I’ve vowed not to borrow any library books for the rest of the summer so I can concentrate on books I actually own and cull some before our move in mid-August. Depending on where we move, I may be using a different library system come autumn.

So, much as I enjoy putting these together, I will be taking a break from Library Checkout posts until September.

LIBRARY BOOKS READ

  • The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison
  • The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • But You Did Not Come Back by Marceline Loridan-Ivens

IMG_0192

LIBRARY BOOKS CURRENTLY READING

  • Sweet Home (short stories) by Carys Bray
  • Parfums: A Catalogue of Remembered Smells by Philippe Claudel
  • Summer Requiem (poems) by Vikram Seth
  • Words in Air: The Complete Correspondence between Elizabeth Bishop and Robert Lowell, edited by Thomas Travisano

CHECKED OUT, TO BE READ

  • The Running Hare: The Secret Life of Farmland by John Lewis-Stempel
  • A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler (for reading on our European holiday)

RETURNED UNREAD

  • In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume
  • The Great Soul of Siberia by Sooyong Park

(Thanks, as always, to Shannon of River City Reading for the great blog idea and template!)

6 thoughts on “Library Checkout: May 2016

    1. I liked it, but didn’t think it was exceptional — even with a ghost writer the writing wasn’t very strong. I was interested to read about her suicidal tendencies and the other suicides in her family. Primo Levi, another famous concentration camp survivor, also committed suicide. That was the most interesting aspect for me, the idea that after coming back (or after someone close to them didn’t come back), people didn’t know how to live anymore. It was a quick read, obviously; just 100 pages in my library copy.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m also looking to purge my collection before we move this summer. Luckily I’ve never been the type of reader with piles of unread books lying around, so it’s mostly going through and getting rid of ones I wanted at one point but don’t really need on my shelves anymore.

    Have fun on vacation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

