Library Checkout: March 2016

I went a little overboard on library books this month because we visited a great branch we don’t often get to. Luckily I get four renewals! April will finally be the month when I try Elena Ferrante, after being on the waiting list for the first of the Neapolitan novels for ages.

LIBRARY BOOKS READ

  • The Remains by Annie Freud (poetry)
  • History of a Suicide: My Sister’s Unfinished Life by Jill Bialosky
  • Look We Have Coming to Dover! by Daljit Nagra (poetry)
  • The Blind Roadmaker by Ian Duhig (poetry)
  • Rising Ground: A Search for the Spirit of Place by Philip Marsden

Skimmed only:

  • Daring Greatly by Brené Brown (mostly repeats what I’d already read in her latest book, Rising Strong)

LIBRARY BOOKS CURRENTLY READING

  • The Human Age: The World Shaped by Us by Diane Ackerman
  • The Towers of Trebizond by Rose Macaulay
  • One of Us: The Story of a Massacre and Its Aftermath, by Åsne Seierstad
  • Golden Age by Jane Smiley
  • Words in Air: The Complete Correspondence between Elizabeth Bishop and Robert Lowell, edited by Thomas Travisano

IMG_0112

CHECKED OUT, TO BE READ

  • The Land Ballot by Fleur Adcock (poetry)
  • In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume
  • The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison
  • My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante
  • The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • To the River by Olivia Laing
  • Song of the Sea Maid by Rebecca Mascull
  • The Observances by Kate Miller (poetry)
  • Dream Work by Mary Oliver (poetry)
  • The Great Soul of Siberia by Sooyong Park (about tigers)

IMG_0114

RETURNED UNREAD

  • Of Love and Desire by Louis de Bernières (unfinished)
  • A Lesson in Love by Gervase Phinn
  • The Book of Aron by Jim Shepard (unfinished)

(Thanks to Shannon at River City Reading for the great blog idea and template! Check out her blog for other link-ups.)

9 thoughts on “Library Checkout: March 2016

    1. You’re right: there happen to be quite a lot of female authors on the pile this time round. I got a little bored with Phinn’s Little Village School novels. I thought I’d read this one just to be completist, but then let it go to make more space on my library card.

      Like

    1. I’m looking forward to it — I know it’s one of your favorites! I’d been hoping to clear the decks a bit before starting such a lengthy novel, but I’ve had it sitting around for a while and I think I’m on my last library renewal, so I may have to pick it up soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hooray for someone else who gets carried away with borrowing library books. Me too. I love forward to seeing what you think of Towers of Trebizond. Her novel The World my Wilderness is one of my favourite books.

    Like

Leave a Comment

