Library Checkout: February 2016

LIBRARY BOOKS READ

  • Early Warning by Jane Smiley
  • The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman
  • Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
  • Walking Away by Simon Armitage

Skimmed only:

  • Bibliotherapy with Bereaved Children by Eileen H. Jones
  • The Black Mirror: Fragments of an Obituary for Life by Raymond Tallis

LIBRARY BOOKS CURRENTLY READING

  • History of a Suicide: My Sister’s Unfinished Life by Jill Bialosky
  • Rising Ground: A Search for the Spirit of Place by Philip Marsden

 Consulting for travel planning purposes:

  • Lonely Planet guides to Germany and Switzerland
  • Time Out guide to Vienna

CHECKED OUT, TO BE READ

  • The Human Age: The World Shaped by Us by Diane Ackerman
  • The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • The Book of Aron by Jim Shepard
  • Golden Age by Jane Smiley

 ON REQUEST

  • My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante [I’m now first in the queue – my library system wisely ordered several more copies!]

(Thanks to Shannon at River City Reading for the great blog idea and template! Check out her blog for other link-ups.)

5 thoughts on “Library Checkout: February 2016

  1. Yay for The Signature of All Things! And, for being first in line for My Brilliant Friend.
    What did you think of The Zookeeper’s Wife? I couldn’t get into that one.

    Like

    1. Yes, I’m looking forward to the Gilbert. I’ve meant to read it for years. And March should finally be the month that I try Elena Ferrante!

      I really liked Zookeeper’s Wife; I enjoyed the combination of a less well trodden Holocaust story and the funny animal antics. I did wish Ackerman had made more of Antonina’s original journals rather than doing her own historical reconstruction, though.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read and enjoyed all of Gilbert’s nonfiction but was hugely let down by the only fiction of hers I tried (Stern Men — just awful!). Lots of people I trust love The Signature of All Things, though, and the subject matter sounds right up my alley.

      Like

Leave a Comment

